Chosen

Waiting to go home yesterday was a shy looking, tan, labrador-esque dog. Her owner stroked her soothingly and she sat quietly as the trains came and went.

Another woman cooed at her and made kissing noises, and the dog made no move of acknowledgement other than looking warily at her. After a few minutes, the dog stood and turned towards where I was standing. We made eye contact; I smiled softly, mouthed “hi puppy”, and stopped staring.

The dog wagged her tail, slowly came over. I looked back, put my hand out softly – she sniffed it, looked up, wagged her tail again, went back to her owner.

My train came and I got on, blessed.

-MC

Leave a Reply

